Tags

, , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,


DSC07506

If there is a shampoo and conditioner for dry hair worth its name in the market, I’m sure to have tried. Maybe I stuck to it for years ( L’Oreal Absolute Repair and Kerastase Bain Satin) ; or maybe used it off and on ( Body Shop Rainforest Range and LUSH Cylvia Synthia Stout Beer Shampoo); bought it once but never repeated it (Garnier) or straight away tossed it in the bin ( Dove..sorry ! But it was pretty awful for my hair). Whatever may have been the outcome, tried it I must have. Yet I continue trying..yeah am kind of addicted to shampoos. Considering the number I’ve used and those I’ve stocked up, I’m practically an authority on them.

                     After trying and liking TVAM Henna and Indigo, it was just a matter of time before I tried their shampoo and conditioner… Henna Extra Conditioning Shampoo for Dry Hair and Aloevera and Henna Conditioner. Details ahead; verdict upfront..I love them! There isn’t much that is not to like about to them. Whatever little bit there is, its peripheral..the products are great and have given me unwaveringly good result in the 3months that I’ve been using them.

          Now the details. Both products come in standard 200 ml plastic bottles with a stopper. Lotion pumps are given along and you can use them instead. Personally however I prefer the disc top cap like most shampoo bottles have. Lotion pumps, as far as I’m concerned, are okay for lotions not for shampoos or conditioners. But that’s a question of personal preference and I decided to keep the stopper, cumbersome though it is. The first thing that hit me the moment I opened the shampoo bottle was the fragrance..simply divine.  What exactly it is, I can’t pinpoint but whatever it is, it had me sniffing the bottle. It’s a bit strong so anyone who has a problem with fragrances better check it out before purchasing. Being a huge LUSH fan and all things that smell nice, even if strong, I loved it. The conditioner too smells equally pleasant but is not so strong. The smell does linger on in the hair for a while even after the hair has dried. As I said above, that’s a pro for me but may not be so for many.

 The shampoo, brown in colour, is of a fairly creamy consistency almost like Kerastase Bain Satin or L’Oreal Absolute Repair. The conditioner on the other hand is not as creamy or thick as that of Kerastase or L’Oreal. It’s more on the runny side but as you apply it, you find it’s pretty much the right consistency. The list of shampoo ingredients reads as “henna, shikakai, bhringraj, aloe vera, amla, liquorice, neelkamal”. TVAM says “Henna Extra Conditioning Shampoo is an anti-hair loss shampoo for dry hair which activates the roots for hair growth. It deep cleanses the follicles, providing moisture and nourishment to the hair roots. It also conditions and energizes your scalp and hair shaft to improve the appearance of thin, fine hair, leaving them soft shiny and beautiful”.  I can’t say about the anti hair loss or hair growth properties of the shampoo but yes it does leave the hair soft and shiny with great volume.  One word of caution though- the shampoo stings the eyes really bad. Why I don’t know. Which ingredient makes it sting I can’t say but you do need to be careful about it.

                        The conditioner has following ingredients – “Aloe Vera, Henna, Brahmi, Liquorice, Green Tea Extract, Lemon”. TVAM says – “Aloe Vera & Henna Hair Conditioner is a light and easy to use, rinse-off conditioner that leaves your hair soft and shining and also protects it from the damaging effects of the sun. Combined with other botanical extracts, it improves hair manageability and also de-tangles hair, reducing the need for over brushing and tugging. The Henna Extract is a great conditioner and lends bounce and lustre”. Yes the conditioner is very light. While putting it you don’t realise how much you have put and once in the hair, it’s as if it’s not there. This is a departure from chemical ridden ordinary conditioners that sit heavily on the hair and are a pain to wash off. This one sits light, washes off easy and does it’s job. I don’t know about the protection from sun part but the hair is soft, manageable and overall nice, healthy and bouncy.

                         I have an unwritten rule of hair care- to the extent possible,no shampooing without some kind of pre wash treatment- be it oiling, hair mask ( my favourite being LUSH Jasmine and Henna Fluff Eaze), henna or just egg. However to give this shampoo-conditioner duo a fair trial, I tried it after all these pre wash rituals as well as without them. Every time result was the same- gorgeous hair. When shampooing oiled hair, I had to shampoo twice but that’s about it. No crazy fly away hair and no need for any kind of hair serum either. I was under the impression that all henna based products would be drying for the hair but using this shampoo and conditioner changed the misconception for me. The overall health of my hair is way better today than it was a year ago so that maybe a contributing factor. But all those ladies battling dry hair, this one is worth a trial.

PROS

  • 100% Natural
  • Lovely fragrance, at least for me
  • Delivers the result it promises

CONS

  • The bottle labels are of paper that start dissolving in water when wet. There is no other option but to avoid getting the bottles wet, if that is possible. And I personally don’t like the lotion pump. I prefer the normal disc top cap but as I said above, that’s a matter of personal choice.
  • Compared with the shampoos available in the market, they are expensive. L’Oreal Absolute Repair Shampoo and masque cost less. But if you are looking for natural products and for results, it’s worth a try.
  • The strong smell. It’s a pro for me but for many it may not be so. 

 

Price – Rs 922/- for 200ml bottle of Henna Extra Conditioning Shampoo

           Rs 790/- for 200ml bottle of Aloevera and Henna Conditioner

Available atwww.tvamnaturals.com and many online sites such as Jabong 

 

 

