Tags

, , , , , , , , , ,


Tej close

This is a product that has just been launched by Forest Essentials and free samples are being offered to their Soundarya ( Loyalty) Members. The original scheme offers a complimentary sample of the Tejasvi Lightening and Brightening Cream worth Rs 525/- on any purchase and is available till 30th June, 2013 or till stocks last. However when I went to their store at Elante Mall at Chandigarh, these samples had not yet reached them. The SA however was nice enough to hand me a small sample. That I’ve harassed this sweet lady plenty since Forest Essentials opened their store at Elante Mall, Chandigarh and she recognises me by now might have helped! The pictures I have put up is of this small sample and since I’ve been travelling ever since, the picture quality is not very good but it gets the job done.Ordinarily I don’t see the point of putting pictures of products except in case of swatches. The only reason I put them up is to show that I did use the products and my take on it is genuine. Other than that, how does the picture of a shampoo bottle or shampoo itself, or a soap or oil, help anyone, I don’t understand. Anyways, coming back to the product sample, what is the size of the sample they are actually supposed to give with a purchase, I don’t know so cannot comment on their pricing.

Ordinarily I’d have a problem with “lightening and brightening” creams given the Indian obsession with the “gori chamdi”. But the thing with Ayurveda, as I understand it, is that the “lightening and brightening” is of your natural, original skin tone allowing your natural tone to be at its brightest sans a tan. So what the cream claims is not to make you “gori-gori” but to restore your skin’s natural brightness and ‘fairness’. My experience with Forest Essential so far has been nothing but amazing. I’m totally in love with this brand, their authentic Ayurvedic products and the salutary effect on the face and hair and I’ll soon have my take on more of their products posted. Had it been some other chemical based brand, I would not have tried even a free sample.

Tejas gud wrComing to the cream itself, what Forest Essentials says is – Tejasvi combines unique natural moisturizers along with selected Ayurvedic herbs to provide extraordinary lightness and brightness, smoothness and suppleness to the skin. It contains Cow’s Ghee along with Coconut Oil, Organic Beeswax, Kasturi Manjal, Peepal, Akashneem, Jivanti and Banyan. These ingredients are renowned in Ayurvedic texts for enhancing elasticity of the skin leaving it with a lighter fairer skin tone, supple and youthful with a noticeably soft resilient and ‘plumped’ quality, and a radiant glow or “Tejas”. The cream they say is created by “ancient Ayurvedic physicians who have used the special techniques of Bio-fermentation, seasonal potency of rare and precious herbs in aged-ghee, stored in copper vats, for their extra ordinary properties of lightening and rejuvenating the skin”.

The procedure for application is to massage a little bit on clean, wet face for minimum of 10 minutes once a day. Then you rinse it off with warm water, followed by cold water. On my normal-oily skin it did not need anything afterwards and given its rich ingredients – cow’s ghee, coconut oil – I doubt even dry skin people will need anything at least in this weather.

Tejas close upI’ve been using it for about a week now which is actually not enough to form an opinion about a product but just an initial impression. And my initial impression is pretty positive. The cream is almost solidified when kept in cool place like ghee would be but thankfully has none of the smell of pure cow’s ghee that many don’t like. I’m in a fairly humid place( Pokhra, Nepal) ever since I started using it but still it did not feel “chip chip” on my face. Neither did it break me out except for an occasional pimple here and there which could be due to my own hormonal roller coaster. I did not even feel the need for a moisturiser in the morning after rinsing the face with plain cold water. And yes the skin does feel supple, healthy and bright in the morning but a week is not enough to comment on the “lightening” property though I do feel that it will help in restoring the skin’s natural tone. But oily skin people, especially those residing in hot and humid places (which right now is almost entire India!) may not like the feel of it and it may break them out at least in this weather.

And that’s pretty much what I can say about it after just a week of use. Once back in hot and humid Chandigarh, I’m not sure I’ll like to continue using it in this weather. But come October and I will definitely pick it up for extended use maybe as a night cream.

On the whole, prima facie it seems like a good product with great natural ingredients that benefit the skin. As with most Forest Essentials products, a little will go a long way though what is the quantity being offered for Rs 525/- has not been specified. in any case, Forest Essentials products are priced on higher side than the drug store brands but they have their own dedicated following who pay and are happy to do so. Moreover Forest Essentials is a cruelty free brand that does not test on animals. I can use their products without the thought of some hapless bunny being tormented to make the product.

The only downside I can see is the timing of the launch of the product. With most India being unbearable hot and humid, this cream may not suit the oily skin people, at least for now. In the winters it should be great for them while dry skin ladies will love it.

.

     

