Tags

, , , , , ,


I am in love with Forest Essentials. With all things Ayurvedic actually and since Forest Essentials is easily one of the best brands in the market when it comes to Ayurvedic products, it is also my first love. Today I feel so silly that I’ve been sitting blissfully unaware of it and it’s lovely products. How I eventually got around to trying it was out of sheer fascination with Ubtans. Since I wanted to try one out, I picked up Forest Essentials Narangi and Nagkesar Facial Ubtan and the Soundarya Ubtan, using them alternately and am I glad that I did. The reason why I’m talking about the two together is that their application and usage is pretty similar as are the effects. I’ve been using them with curd and both suited my oily combination skin perfectly. Depending on your skin type and requirement, one can change the mixing medium- curd, rose water or milk.

Facial Ubtan

What FE says about Narangi and Nagkesar Facial ubtan- Narangi and Nagkesar is a powerful exfoliating treatment that stimulates the underlying tissues of the skin. By its revitalizing, refreshing & refining actions, this ‘Ubtan’ helps in the natural glow of the complexion. It protects the skin from Acne and Blemishes. Its regular usage prevents the occurrence of premature fine lines and firms and tones the skin.The list of ingredients is all natural and impressive. “Narangi peel, Marigold leaves, Mulethi powder, Nagkesar, Bala,  Brihati, Khas, Vidarikand, Ashwaghanda, Durva, Neem, Sweet Orange, Brahmi, Anantmool, Camphor.

As for the Soundarya Ubtan, “Forest Essentials Soundarya is a powerful exfoliating treatment that stimulates the underlying tissues of the skin. By its revitalizing, refreshing & refining actions, this ‘Ubtan’ gives a natural glow to the complexion. Its regular usage prevents the occurrence of premature fine lines, improves skin texture, giving skin a smooth radiant finish.”.The list of ingredients is again all natural- ”Orange peel, Jasmine Petal, Rose Petal, Neem Powder, Jau flower, Sandalwood Oil, Turmeric, Kulat Flour, Saunf, Anantmool, Saffron Powder, Lemon Peel.Honestly I haven’t heard of half of them – Brihati, Vidarikand, Anatmool- but my knowledge of ayurveda is fairly limited in any case.Saundarya Ubtan

 

How to use: Take half teaspoon and mix with yoghurt or rosewater to make a creamy paste. Use to wash face. Rinse well.”

DSC_1471

 I’ve been mixing them with curd and using it to wash my face with daily- either just as face wash, or as mask or for gentle exfoliation. While some people may find the smell of curd offensive, I don’t. And it has helped me tremendously with removing tan and keeping the face bright. The dark spots, that have been plaguing me with their stubbornness ever since I can remember, have faded a lot as well. While the new dark spots are hardly visible, the old ones are taking more time to fade but the difference is pretty clear. The smell of both is mild and pleasing. While the texture of the ubtans is not coarse- just fine enough to clean and mildly exfoliate. I have been using the ubtans daily or even twice a day, having said goodbye to my chemical facial cleanser. Even using them twice daily did not irritate my skin in the slightest. In fact I found them lot milder than the so called daily use exfoliating scrubs. For my normal to oily skin they works perfectly and I’ve been following it up with Aloe-Vera gel or FE Lavender Neroli Sunscreen or the  FE Jasmine Patchouli Night Cream, depending on the requirement. Dry skin ladies may need more of moisturising while oily skin ones could skip the moisturising part. While they did not reduce the black heads immediately, regular usage made the black heads surface quickly so that they would come out easily. In this matter I found the ubtans way more effective than these daily use scrubs.

Packaging is simple and classy- trademark FE plastic tub with wide mouth and is sturdy enough. Beyond that does it really matter? I mean ,you have to use the product inside and not marry the tub- so chill. Instead of fretting about the packaging, go and try out the product- it’s worth it.

For a quick re cap

Pros

  1. Effective- Be it removal of tan, skin brightening, reducing black heads or dealing with dark spots, these ubtans are working for me.
  2. All natural ingredients.
  3. A cruelty free brand.

Cons

None really except that it’s expensive – both priced at Rs 595/- for a 50g tub. But so are all Ayurvedic brands and to my mind it’s totally worth it.

.

