Tags

, , , , , ,


Have you ever wondered what it would feel like to have a fashion/make-up line named after you? Having a street named after you is huge. But these days a fashion/accessory/makeup line isn’t so big a deal. The reason I bring this up is because yesterday I received my Customised Cream from Forest Essentials. While I’m obviously yet to try it, the box reads “Specially made for Ms. Tamanna Kanwar”. Yeah I know it was specially customised for me that’s why it says so and it’s nowhere near the same thing as having a line named after you but just saying- felt pretty awesome.

DSC07848 C

For those of you who don’t know, Forest Essentials is offering to make a customised face cream specially to meet your skin’s specific requirements. You go on their website, fill in the form and within a few days they get back to you with their recommendations. Once you confirm and make the payment, within 15 days of the confirmation the cream is ready to be shipped. (http://www.forestessentialsindia.com/indulge.html)

What FE says about this offer – “The secrets to flawless skin and ageless beauty have been known to Indian physicians for over six thousand years, preserved in one of the world’s oldest systems of health care and healing, known as ‘Ayurveda’ or ‘Knowledge of Life’. Ayurveda defines the 3 life giving forces or ‘Doshas’ – Vata, Pitta and Kapha – that are the inherent intelligence of the body

We understand that your skin demands the most precious natural ingredients and certain fragrances and natural textures, may be preferable to you. In this regard, Forest Essentials is delighted to create for you, your own customised beauty cream that provides the necessary nourishment, repairs and rejuvenates your skin while it’s at rest.

This customised beauty cream can be prepared exclusively for you, basis the following key questions that we require to understand your skin and Dosha type. Formulated with the base of hydrating ingredients such as Cold Press Organic vegetable and plant Oils, blended with renowned Ayurvedic ingredients, this cream will be unique and one of its kind. Adding to its individuality that reflects your own, a signature fragrance of your choice whether the fresh tangy scents of lemons or even the muskiness of pure sandalwood, will be added to your personalised beauty cream.”

 

Ordinarily I would be wary of trying something like this given the obvious fact that it would come with a hefty price tag. However, FE is a name I’ve come to love in the past few months. Their products, specially the ubtans, have suited me like nothing else did. I’ve always been a big fan of all things natural and this is a natural, Ayurvedic brand  and cruelty free to boot. When I came across their “Made to Order” offer, I was tempted. I got their mail with the recommendations; I fired a volley of more questions and so and so forth. Even so the price of Rs 2950/- for a 50 gm jar ( plus another 100 for shipping) was quite a deterrent. So I thought some more but eventually gave in to the temptation- the possibility of having my face look like skin was too tempting to pass. Okay so my skin isn’t so bad but yeah I have my own issues and concerns with it. Since FE products have been helping me, I decided to burn a hole in my pocket and order it. As I reasoned to myself, any high-end brand, say Clinique or Estee Lauder would cost more for their ordinary range, forget something customised. So why not give this a shot!

What their Ayurvedic consultant recommended for me, after an analysis of my “doshas” is a Jasmine Pomegranate & Kokum Butter Cream- The key ingredients of the cream would be Tea tree oil which controls excess oil production & reduce acne, Nut Grass is Soothing & an anti-irritant, Satavari is Anti-inflammatory ,Nagkesar is anti-bacterial, Ashwagandha is anti-oxidant, Vidarikand maintains natural hydration levels of the skin and Pomegranate juice moisturizes. The base would be Cold Pressed Organic Sweet Almond Oil, Cold Pressed Organic Wheat germ Oil & Kokum Butter”

I made the on line payment on 22nd July, 2013 and was informed on 7th August, 2013 that it would be dispatched that day. On 8th August, I was given the docket no. Yesterday, on 12th August 2013 I received the courier which is actually more time than a courier from Haridwar to Panchkula should take but for that there is DTDC to thank. Yesterday I also received a mail with a skin care regime that they have suggested for me.

DSC07859

While the packet was nothing fancy but a standard cardboard brown box, the jar inside was intact- nicely secured in bubble paper. The packaging is classic FE- small square box with a jar inside- just like any of their creams. And of course my name on the top, that honestly I’m so kicked about. The cream smells gorgeous, is neither very thick nor thin- just about the consistency of their Jasmine and Patchouli Night Cream, maybe a wee bit thicker. DSC07867 C

This was just a peep into this “Customised Cream” offer and I’ll have a detailed review up after about a month. I think that is the minimum time one ought to give a product, specially an Ayurvedic one. So long ladies-I have my personalised cream to keep me happy!!

DSC07848 cc

