Tags

, , , , , ,


DSC07939 C

There are good friends. Then there are crazy friends. But if you are lucky like me, you just don’t have good or crazy friends but fabulous friends who are nevertheless raving mad. So it’s kind of a package deal- ask for a good one, you get a crazy one hidden somewhere within and I’ve been blessed to have some such masterpieces in my life. Since this kind, crazy soul was going to be visiting me, I asked her to pick up some stuff from LUSH, there being no LUSH in Chandigarh and LUSH India was pretty much out of stock. I sent her my list, nothing too exhaustive. But when she landed here, what I think she had carried with her was pretty much the entire LUSH store. Where I had asked for a single piece of an item, I got two or three, depending on her mood; where I had committed the mistake of asking for two, I got four and where I had asked for the smalles packaging possible, I got the biggest one instead. And a host of products that I had not even asked for. This qualifies not as a LUSH Haul but clear loot. I’m sure the LUSH SAs are yet to recover from her whirlwind of a shopping spree. Looking at the picture, I think you will agree with me. This is the same crazy chick, who in her infinite wisdom had committed the mistake of introducing me to LUSH about 8-9 years ago. Ever since, both my love for LUSH and her craziness continue to grow unabated.

Talking of craziness, after spending a year colouring my hair with LUSH Caca Noir for a black colour, I decide that I wanted a red tinge to my jet black hair. With henna you can’t get a red colour on hair as black as mine. The best one can get is a red/reddish tinge. Hence I decided to try LUSH Caca Rouge. I had asked this lady for two blocks; she carried four..sigh!!

DSC07972 C

Well, coming to LUSH Caca Rouge, LUSH says-

For aspiring redheads who want to stop traffic with unparalleled shine and color. That’s not too much to ask from a solid block of henna is it? Not if you make it like we do. Caca Rouge is the reddest of our henna dyes and it’s sure to get you noticed. We use the finest Persian henna; the leaves are dried and ground into a powder and mixed with conditioning cocoa butter, which forms the basis of our Cacas. Organic lemon juice helps to bring out the redness and gives hair shine and lustre. You’re left with stunning, shiny and healthy-looking hair. DSC07976 C

How to Use

1. Break henna up into large pieces and put in a heatproof bowl.

2. Add hot water and let steep. Mix to a batter-like consistency.

3. Put on gloves and apply from back to front, coating hair thoroughly.

4. Cover in cling wrap for a more vibrant red. Leave on for two to four hours.

 5. Rinse, shampoo, and condition hair.

Tips: Always do a strand test first. Use face cream (or Ultra Bland) around your hairline and ears to protect skin. Wrap hair in cling film for a redder color.

LUSH’s instructions are easy to follow. In any case, mixing and applying henna isn’t exactly rocket science specially for those of us in India who have dabbled with it at some point or the other. Messy yes, impossible, no. I cut and mixed it just as I did LUSH Caca Noir (https://madwomanintheatticblog.wordpress.com/2013/01/30/colour-me-black-red-brown-the-lush-caca-way/) only that I added some cheap red wine that is supposed to enhance the red colour. For my hair length, I use three chunks from a single block. I left it on for a good 6 to 8 hours all the three times that I have so far applied it. Thereafter I washed and conditioned as usual. So do I have gorgeous red tint? Sadly no. Even after 3 applications within 10 days, my stubborn black hair refused to take on the sexy red tint that I was lusting after. My hair has come out soft, shiny and absolutely conditioned no doubt but the red tint? Not happening. The picture below is the best I could get in name of a red tint. But the few greys that I do have got a red colour, not the awful orange of traditional henna but a nice reddish colour. I still have two and a half more blocks to go ( thanks to my crazy cat’s loot) and I will use it over the next few months. Maybe I do get some hint of a red tinge!

DSC08035 C

